The first billboard in Los Angeles!! ” - N/A

— Los Angeles

” - Prez

Ugs4life.com

Tha Club House song featured on "King Of The Road" tv series Season 2 ep 7.  The Return of the Butt Chug WATCH By clicking the Here.”

Viceland

INDEPENDENT ALBUMS How it works   JUNE 3, 2017  Search the Chart Archives. Try entering a birthday or anniversary. ARCHIVESEARCH   GO New 1Last Week: -- Thankful (EP) New Kids On The Block  CHART HIGHLIGHTS  Greatest Gainer 3 Hardwired...To Self-Destruct Metallica  Hot Shot Debut 1 Thankful (EP) New Kids On The Block New 2Last Week: -- The Bob's Burgers Music Album Soundtrack 3Last Week: 6 Hardwired...To Self-Destruct Metallica New 4Last Week: -- Back 2 Life LeToya Luckett  Video New 5Last Week: -- White Knight Todd Rundgren New 6Last Week: -- Chicken Talk II Tone & Mr. 4Twenty 7Last Week: 1 This Old Dog Mac DeMarco 8Last Week: 10 BEL Hommage Patti LaBelle 9Last Week: 3 Slowdive Slowdive  Full Track LAST WEEK3 PEAK POSITION3 WKS ON CHART2 10Last Week: 20 They Don't Know Jason Aldean THIS  ”

Billboard

Episode 329 – II-Tone’s New Direction » « Episode 328 – Sticky Fingaz of ONYX Reviews – II Tone – New Direction-My World Overcometh Published January 4, 2017 | By prez II Tone is back with a brand new solo album in 2017! Black Rain Entertainment and II Tone have been puttin’ it down for years, and always represents Memphis Tennessee to the fullest! This album is crunk as fuck to start off with! The production is done by different producers including Jack Daniels, DJ Cree and St. Kittz but the majority of this dope production was done by Cuttoffurmind! It captures that classic M-Town Get-Buck sound, so if you are a fan of dope Memphis rap then this is a must!  One of the songs I cant stop bumpin’ is Water Off featuring Mac Montese and T-Rock because it is about how people change when you quit doing shit for them. Basically goin’ in on them snakes that lay around waiting for your downfall! Another one I’m feeling is Different because he opens up about alot on here including having Vitiligo which is the same condition that Krizz Kalico of Strange Music has. The album is packed full of heat, including the fire track Take A Puff featuring Mr. 4Twenty and Mac Montese, this one is a real smoker’s anthem!  I’m feeling at least 90% of this album, even the couple songs I’m not into are bumpin’, but then again I’ve never known II Tone or Black Rain to put out anything wack. He even has Lord Infamous(RIP) on here whom was a huge part of Black Rain Entertainment.I love the beats, the dope rhymes, but also the quality. This is the first II-Tone solo I’ve heard in a minute and I strongly recommend it to anyone who is into hard street shit. Definitely a breathe of fresh air for the new year!  Make sure to hit up Itunes and cop this album!also check out II Tone on Facebook And Twitter ” - Prez

UGS4LIFE

  II Tone :: New Direction: My World Overcometh :: Black Rain Entertainment as reviewed by Matt Jost  Although the course of history forces many a popular artist to confirm to prevalent tastes, established genres like blues, rock or jazz offer a career option that lets artists do what they're best known for and hopefully best at. Playing into their hands is the fact that their fanbase advances with them in years, people who love them for what they do and are grateful that they haven't abandoned it yet. They play in a league of their own and even calling it the senior divison won't diminish their standing. And if they're truly lucky bastards, what they do is so compelling, genuine and timeless that they continue to garner new fans, some born long after their initial breakthrough. American rap acts have had a hard time prolonging their careers substantially. It remains to be seen whether some rappers will be able to succeed the likes of Duke Ellington, Tony Bennett, John Lee Hooker, Johnny Cash, or the Rolling Stones in terms of extended longevity. Gang Starr would have been viable candidates, before unfortunate and then tragic circumstances befell the duo. A Tribe Called Quest just recently took a shot at it with promising prospects despite or because of Phife's death. A few others seem to have a somewhat stable future ahead of them which a chance of rejuvenating their fanbase. But while individual careers don't last particularly long, the musical movements they are part of often endure. This is quite obvious in rap music's East Coast branch, where chopped samples are still a common sound. Other regions developped their own characteristic sonic styles. Houston, New Orleans and Atlanta all have a rich history that ultimately propelled southern rap to the top, and so does Memphis, via seminal groups Three 6 Mafia and Eightball & MJG. II Tone has been a visible part of the Memphis scene for over 15 years, his most pivotal role being that of co-founder of Black Rain Entertainment together with the late Mafia member Lord Infamous. His solo debut dates back to 2000 ("In Too Deep"), and he executive-produced all Lord Infamous releases on their label. You wouldn't be wrong to expect a certain sound from II Tone, but what you might not expect is such a straightforward old fashioned album. "New Direction: My World Overcometh" is sure to remind listeners of rap from the south circa 2005-2010. Which is potentially good news for II Tone. Despite there being seemingly fewer variety in the proud genre of hip-hop, the fans of yesterday haven't simply vanished. And they have their own expectations. If someone specifically yearns for that Hypnotize Minds sound, II Tone has got them at least partially covered. Echoing, spooky mid-tempo synths open the album while II Tone offers insight into his biography and philosophy with the pace of a shaman and the tone of a pitchman. "Hangin' in Da Hood" comes equipped with enough menace to match threats like "I'm masked up, super crunk, smokin' chunks, I'm through with blunts / Ridin' round town with your body in the fuckin' trunk." "Ridin' in Da Black Rain" hits the right notes for an epic, melancholic track (altough the effect is diluted once the rhythm section sets in). And plus "Frosty" is a posthumous Lord Infamous feature. The sample for "Criminal Mind" is well chosen and converted and contrasts the rapper's relentless (but not breathless) rapping. The superbly programmed percussion of "Cut Your Water Off" alone is worth paying attention to the song, early on solidifying the album's musical diversity, further verified by the rhythmically stuttering, musically stunting "Top Back." The type of classic soul interpolation behind "Ain't No Dope Like I Got" can almost be called a southern staple, while "Can You Stand the Rain" is the uncorrupted '80s quiet storm cover that harks back to '90s rap. Speaking of, "Take Ah Puff" makes sure to include Muggs-type shrieks for some proper Cypress Hill allusions. So yes, "New Direction" is musically solid - if resistant to newer trends. Tone's problem is that he's not a classic artist. He's as generic as they come. He can keep a sound alive, perhaps even an attitude. But he lacks any feature that would make him stand out in the supraregional music scene that he's part of. It is a typical case of shooting yourself in the foot when you name an album "New Direction" and open it with a song called "Different" but don't do anything to substantiate those terms. When you instead fill said album with rhymes from the phraseology of a million and one street rap albums. Any rapper approching a 16 with the building block method has to expect that certain lines don't fit. It is not our intent to lambast well meaning artists, so let's just say that II Tone's rhymes don't always add up. And when they do you'll very rarely think you've witnessed something worth remembering. For the sake of it, let's pick out "You can gossip 'bout my lifestyle, you hate it and you're bitter / but the shit I'm goin' through, I wouldn't wish it on you, nigga" or "Money getters, wig splitters - Martin Luther had a dream / Not that fuck shit you be doin' leadin' to a crime scene." Interesting lyrical impulses that unfortunately go absolutely nowhere. A classic artist can make these things work, including contradictions and clichées. In "Criminal Mind" II Tone references the legendary Scarface with the arbitrary line "This the diary of a madman, money and the power." Not so long ago Scarface summed up Tone's basic configuration which he fails to verbalize in one rhyme: "Greatest ever done it, you can learn from it / Dope game - ran it, rap game - run it." II Tone says it himself - there's levels to this shit. You can take every one of his attributes (defiance, intimidation, ignorance, swag, insight, empathy) and think of another artist who took it to whole 'nother level. That's why II Tone can, like so many hidebound hip-hoppers, cater to your nostalgia only for so long. Music Vibes: 5 of 10 Lyric Vibes: 3 of 10 TOTAL Vibes: 4 of 10 Originally posted: February 14, 2017source: www.RapReviews.com” - Matt Jost

RapReviews.com

Reviews – Club House Click – Ovaworked Undapaid Published December 2, 2015 | By prez Black Rain Entertainment, II Tone, Mac Montese and a whole crew of featuresmake up this new Club House Click project “Ovaworked Undapaid” and if you area true fan of that Memphis sound, this will not disappoint you.  I have been bumpin II Tone’s music for years and even though the late greatLord Infamous is no longer with us, Tone and Montese keep the flame lit witha real solid album and best part is the whole thing is packed full of dopetracks and you can cop it on Itunes for only $5.99  Some of my favorite tracks include “Blow Ah N-gga Ass Off” which goes straightfor the jugular, then you gotta bump “Sacrifice” which goes in on gossipers. Ialso cant stop listening to the final track on the album “Finna.” The beats onthis album can’t be fucked with and like I said it’s only $5.99, no excuse notto get this album if you like that real shit!  For 2015 I am pleased to see another real dope solid project such as this newClub House Click “Ovaworked Undapaid” If you have been listening to Black RainENT projects this is a must for your collection. Hat’s off to them for this one!  Club House Click “Ovaworked Underpaid” on Itunes ” - Prez

www.ugs4life.com

Three 6 Mafia Founder Dies Of Heart Attack Dec 22nd 2013 | 1:11pm | Staff Writer Billboard has confirmed that rapper Lord Infamous of Memphis hip hop outfit Three 6 Mafia died on Friday night. Born Ricky Dunigan in 1973, he formed rap group Three 6 Mafia in 1991 with his half-brother DJ Paul, Juicy J and Koopsta Knicca. Originally known as Backyard Posse, the band completed its line-up with Crunchy Black and Gangsta Boo ahead of their debut album Mystic Stylez in 1995. Following a stint in jail, Infamous was found in breach of contract with Sony and was forced out of the group. His departure came just after the band had won a Best Original Song Oscar for their track It's Hard Out Here For A Pimp, which was used in the 2005 film Hustle And Flow. Infamous set up his own label in 2006, issuing releases for fellow Memphis rappers Mac Montese and T-Rok. Infamous had only recently reformed Three 6 Mafia as Da Mafia 6ix. The reunited crew dropped a mixtape earlier in the year and were reported to be working on a new studio album. Gangsta Boo tweeted the news of his musical partner's death, asking that people show respect for family and friends "during this tragedy". Infamous, age 40, was found dead at his mother's home and the cause of death is as yet undetermined. [UPDATE] DJ Paul has confirmed to The Hollywood Reporter that Infamous died of a heart attack in his sleep. Paul told THR, " "He said he was tired, he wanted to sleep. He sat down at the kitchen table, put his head in his arms to lay down ... to get some sleep. He added that the group was getting ready for a show next week outside of Memphis, "He got a chance to see the group back together like he wanted to and be back in the studio with everybody and be back making music like he always liked to do.” - Staff Writer

Themusic.com.au

  Mac Montese :: On a Mission :: Black Rain Entertainment  as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon  Mac Montese is the latest artist hailing from the Black Rain Entertainment family, the label best known as the musical home of their co-CEO Lord Infamous. He in turn is best known for being one of the founding members of Three 6 Mafia, but relations between the founders have been strained for more than a minute now. As such it's never surprising if DJ Paul and Juicy J aren't seen on a Black Rain released album, but not at all surprising when former Hypnotize Minds artists like Gangsta Boo and Koopsta Knicca do. Personally I wouldn't mind seeing all the past and present Memphis family members peace it out and get together in the studio again, but in 2011, it is what it is. The impression one gets of Montese from "On a Mission" is that he's being groomed as a successor to Lord Infamous. That's far from a bad idea given Infamous has had some serious health issues of late and could probably use someone to carry the torch for his label in the event of his untimely demise. Of course Montese can't simply be "Scarecrow Part Deux" and expect to earn the respect of devoted Southern hip-hop fans, let alone a national or worldwide following for his music. That's why throughout this 18 track album almost every other song finds him going for dolo. We'll address the guest star situation momentarily, but let's first see how Montese plans to keep it "Real" in rap: When you real you don't say you real; real you don't fake the dealReal if you keep it 100 after you make a mill'Real when you stayin down, real if you come back 'roundReally, on the outside they smilin, but inside is a frownI got some issues on my mind and now it's time for you to pay attentionYou didn't want to listen, so now I guess I gots to mentionEv-ery-thing-I-done-did was off the fact that I was realSTILL, I feel, like I'm the one that's left up out of the dealHell - takin my credit for shit I done donePlayin my hit but they say it's his songWhat's goin on? Tell me I'm wrongIt's got me off up in the zoneNow it's time to make a song where everybody know it's meMac Montese I'm from the streets, a beast up on these damn beats There's a good news/bad news type situation going on here I'll have to break down for you the reader in detail. Here's the good news - Montese is competent at delivering a verse, his accent and diction are mostly clear, his vocal tone is not unpleasant and he doesn't embarrass himself lyrically. The bad news is that puts him somewhere in the middle of the pack for rappers from any region of the United States. He tries so hard not to be corny that it may be working against him here. "I get plenty of ass, so call me an astronaut" may be one of Dr. Dre's worst lines of all time, but no one forgets that line or the funky-ass song from the "Friday" soundtrack he said it on. Montese proves himself adequate to hold the stick as a soloist, but he fits very well into the other half of this album's songs where he shares the spotlight. "White House" with Yung Madness sounds like a cross between a Gucci Mane and a Three 6 song, and that's even more true on "Smokin Song" when Koopsta Knicca gets added to the mix. "Mean Mug" features the two chiefs of Black Rain joining him on the song, Lord Infamous and II Tone, while "Heavy Metal" is a posse song with the aforementioned Tone and Madness plus Slim Money, Fullclip and (speaking of cornball) Big Cheese. As with other Black Rain releases liner notes are all but non-existant for the CD, but a small note at the bottom of the back cover reads "Produced by St. Kittz, Maniak, Shun Flames & T-Magic." We have no way of knowing who produced which, but for "On a Mission" it hardly matters anyway. Every song has a similar dark and sinister edge which both Infamous and his ex-friends in the Mafia are best known for. A few songs stand out a little from the pack when the whole of "On a Mission" is examined closely. Montese has a convincing amount of swagger with the ladies on "Put It In" and the mellow tinkling melody belies a rather coarse sexual appetite. "Mackin" would pass for a hard hitting Three 6 produced song on any of their major label albums, as would the sinister keys and notes of "Swag Up." "Night" has an uncredited crooner which gives an extra mellow flavor to the song, and Montese picks up his flow to the point he sounds more like a Bone Thugs affiliate than a Black Rain one. A lot of the songs are interchangeable though and that's a big problem - if the rap on one fits perfectly on the beat for another without even changing the chorus or tempo "formulaic" creeps on into the discussion. Once again that may be the fault of a young rapper trying to do way too much, as 18 songs is really more than anyone needs from Mac Montese when he's only just starting to emerge from the Scarecrow's shadow. If Mac Montese stays "On a Mission" to improve as an artist then he'll be worthy to lead the future of Black Rain Entertainment, but more work is required. Music Vibes: 5.5 of 10 Lyric Vibes: 5.5 of 10 TOTAL Vibes: 5.5 of 10 Originally posted: April 5th, 2011source: www.RapReviews.com” - Steve 'Flash' Juon

RapReviews

Lord Infamous :: Futuristic Rowdy Bounty Hunter :: Black Rain Entertainment as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon  In June of 2010 the word went out to RapReviews and scores of other hip-hop sites that Lord Infamous suffered a heart attack AND kidney failure. With such a deadly double dose of medical maladies to deal with, it was entirely understandable that his PR people wanted us to all know "Futuristic Rowdy Bounty Hunter" would be pushed back and there was no longer a definitive release date. The health and well-being of one of the founding members of Three 6 Mafia was (and still is) far more important than any new songs or a brand new album. Since "Bounty Hunter" landed on my desk this week I have to assume his health improved enough in the interim to either finish the CD or master the already available material and put it out to the public. That's no indication of whether he would (or even should) tour to support the release, but one can at least hope that it's a sign of things improving - or at the very least one of those cases where the phrase "no news is good news" rings true. Ringing" is definitely one of the things a Lord Infamous album does. L.I. has been known since his earliest days as a lyrical leader at the forefront of hip-hop's occult side. Even though the Mafia's style evolved over the last two decades to become more commercially friendly, with only the name itself implying any kind of Satanic side, there was definitely a time in their history where they explored the mysteries of the dark side. Infamous stood out in the group for being willing to push their exploration of these themes to the maximum, and since being on hiatus from the group (it's never been clear if he was asked to leave or parted ways on amicable terms to do his own thing until an eventual reunion) he's kept that darkness alive. Even his label's name Black Rain Entertainment implies an unnatural and ominous storm coming down on your head. Normally the only time of year I get into occult symbolism is Halloween, but if a black rain was coming down on my head I'd certainly wonder if it was the end of days. Infamous definitely enjoys spooking people - after all one of his many nicknames is 'Scarecrow' - a fact he references on the heavy beats and rhymes of "Don't Stop": "When I grab the pad and pencil, oh it's so essentialThat the Scarecrow show you bitch-ass niggaz my credentialsPhrases and these metaphors I use 'em as utensilsLike a butcher as I carve in corpses my initialsLike I said before a nigga likely with a nymphoSicker than them niggaz with that cell they call sickleToss you in the pond you hit and then the water rippleOnly way you walkin out this piece is as a crippleWhen I walk into the rhyme get cold and harden nipplesWicked shit is complicated, you niggaz too simple" While Lord Infamous' rhymes aren't "too simple" they are definitely predictable to a degree, as he's always proud to boast how hard he is and how much more gruesome he will get compared to his foes. It should be self-evident that it's boasting, because if he was really tossing bodies in ponds he'd either be in jail or he'd be on the FBI's most wanted list with a national manhunt out to find him. Nevertheless when it comes to macabre grim tales, few rappers can match his level of depravity on "Niggaz Like You": "My name is the Scarecrow, some say that I'm derangedAnd if you come step in my slaughterhouse I'll make sure that you not comin out mayneI'm reppin up like Rain, bloody Memphis, Club House ClickForever I came out to use up real bodies like you with the bitches real quickA menacing menace to murderers, Lord and I'm comin real fuckin slickI'm doin these niggaz real dirty, man I'll shoot you in yo' dick!Listen closely punk bitch, you don't want no parts of 'RicCome and get with these killers, make you split your own wrists" The one thing that might definitively be "too simple" about Lord Infamous' "Futuristic Rowdy Bounty Hunter" is the liner notes. There's absolutely NO production credits or guest appearance credits, even though the album's cover promises contributions from Chamillionaire, Koopsta Knicca and Gangsta Boo among others. It's not hard to pick out guests when you hear them, but it smacks of gross oversight to not list each track's producer and credit each artist - they have to be to get any royalties coming their way anyway. Surely Black Rain Entertainment kept records of everything, and given this album was delayed there was no reason to rush it out without putting the info inside, let alone giving Infamous a chance to write a list of thank yous to people who supported him while he was in bad shape. It's hard to fathom why it was done, but more than that it's impossible to either praise the producers who did well or blame the ones who did poorly in supporting L.I.'s efforts. "Bout It" has a classic Mafia sound, "Cry" sounds like a gothic bloody rap opera, and "In Da Hood" is the kind of anthemic song Infamous' fans will undoubtedly love. There's not much on "Bounty Hunter" that could cross over with a radio edit or music video, but "Jump" comes as close as any of them in terms of the sound and the tempo. Unfortunately the tempo is at times a drawback on this album, as "I Be" and "War Love" are two among many that seem to have no variance in pace at all. If you listen to this album straight through from start to finish for 50 minutes many of the songs blend together, and not in a mixtape kind of way. This is one of the few times I actually think more skits on an album would have been helpful. Still just in time for Halloween in 2010, Lord Infamous is back with an album creepy enough to keep his many fans and admirers happy while he continues to rest and recuperate so he can keep making more grim raps. Music Vibes: 6 of 10 Lyric Vibes: 6 of 10 TOTAL Vibes: 6 of 10 Originally posted: October 26, 2010” - Steve 'Flash' Juon

RapReviews

Lord Infamous & Black Rain Entertainment Releasing Blood Money July 28th by MVRemix on July 21, 2009  in MVRemix Urban Lord Infamous & Black Rain Entertainment Releasing Blood Money July 28th Memphis rapper and former Three 6 Mafia member Lord Infamous is scheduled to release his fourth solo effort, Blood Money, on July 28th via his own record label, Black Rain Entertainment. His first solo project, Lord of Terror, was released as an underground tape in 1994, and his second album, The Man, The Myth, The Legacy, dropped in October of 2007. Lord’s third album, After Sics, was released this past January. Featuring guests like Chamillionaire, Mac Montese, and more, Blood Money is led by Lord Infamous, with II Tone and T-Rock by his side. Blood Money will mark the fourth solo project from Lord Infamous since he broke away from the rap group Three 6 Mafia. As a founding member of the group, Lord helped propel them to win an Academy Award in 2006. His violent, often horrific lyrics are one reason behind the “666” in the original name “Triple 6 Mafia.” Although he continues to collaborate with members of the group, he has recently been focusing on his own endeavors. Blood Money Track Listing 1. Blood Money2. Niggas Like You3. Love My Whip feat. Chamillionaire4. Chopper Talk feat. Mac Montese5. Ball Off Remix6. Heen Bout It7. I Need Drugs8. What You Bitches Wanna Do9. Get It Crackin10. Show Up feat. Mac Montese11. Workin feat. Scrilla Man, Suga, Mac Montese12. 1-90013. Do This14. No Problems feat. Mac Montese, Big Cheese, C-Mob15. Crunk N Throwed16. The Streets feat. Mac Montese, Flo Dawgs” - MVRemix

mvremixmedia